Franz Peter Schubert


D.821 - Arpeggione Sonata in A Minor

1.Allegro moderato 

Elena Ünaldı, viola

Özgür Ünaldı, piano


Read about the composer: Click here

Read about the violist: Click here

Read about the pianist: Click here


The Sonata in A minor for Arpeggione and Piano, D. 821, was written by Franz Schubert in Vienna in November 1824. The sonata is the only substantial composition for the arpeggione (which was essentially a bowed guitar) which remains extant today. The sonata was composed in November 1824, about a month after he had returned to Vienna from his second stay in Zseliz. The piece was probably commissioned by Schubert's friend Vincenz Schuster, who was a virtuoso of the arpeggione, an instrument which had been invented only the previous year. By the time the sonata was published posthumously in 1871, the enthusiasm for the novelty of the arpeggione had long since vanished, together with the instrument itself.